Peace (John 14:27)

Peace is something I have struggled with for a very long time, I can say it has been probably during my whole college tenure thus far. Peace is something we all want, but something only a few seem to have. I can say of this day though, I have peace about a lot of things for the first time in a long time and I am very happy about that.

I know for myself and many of you, we have searched for peace in many things. Work, relationships, and the list goes on; I know I was in that boat. Essentially, we searched for peace here on the earth. Which I can tell you from my own experience will not give you peace, the only thing that will is accepting the Will of God and living for Christ Jesus. For years, I chased my dreams, and not those of the Lord. Christ says

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.”

-John 14:27

In a nutshell, the only peace we can find is in Christ. He has a plan for each of us, and when we accept it we will experience that. I have finally come to the point in my walk that I am okay with the fact that the things I desire, may not be what the Lord has planned. I know the biggest things I fear in life is where will I work? Who/will I marry? Where am I going to call home? Very stressful, right? Hard to have peace, but now that I have accepted that all those things will happen according to his divine plan as long as I submit myself to Him, I have peace.

For the first time I feel like a load is off of me, and I am happy. I haven’t been able to say that in a while. Its funny when it hits you too, a lot of the stress came off of me Sunday. The rest today on the way home from class, rocking out to some Francesca Battistelli on the Lurleen Wallace Bridge.

I can’t say I will not stress ever again, heck I mean I do have a mid-term on Thursday! But just having peace about the future and present, and knowing I am forgiven for the past, well it has made me a happy individual. And I am very glad I can say that!

 

 

Leave a Reply

