“Do Not Fear, For I have Redeemed You…”

Pretty powerful, huh? Also easier said than done. I did my quite time a lot earlier today than I normally do it. Mainly because my 1:00 class was canceled, my 3:00 was just presentations, and there is a current flood in Tuscaloosa. So while I am working on a paper that is due tomorrow, I decided to go ahead and spend some time with my father God.

Not a bad way to start the day, I normally do my quite time at night. The main reason is, I am not a morning person. I sleep as late as possible, and get in a rush getting ready so I can be on time. I take time to talk to God before I start my day, but my quite time I do at night. I like that because I can reflect on my day; what I did right, what I did wrong, and what I could have done better. It also leads into my next day, because it is the last thing I do before going to sleep.

Which leads me to the title, that quote comes straight from Isaiah chapter 43. The full quote from the verse is:

Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
I have summoned you by name; you are mine….

Easier said than done right? I can’t tell you how many times in life I have been scared and people said ‘don’t be afraid, God is with you’. And it is true, he is but I am also a human as well. It is only natural to fear, but God did not give us that feeling. Fear is not what he wants us to experience, he has given us peace a peace beyond all understanding.  It is amazing though to think the creator of the world has called us by name, and we are His. He says ‘you are mine’, I can’t even fathom that sometimes. How someone so perfect, can look at me and accept me for who I am. Tenth Avenue North have a great song about this, take a listen

My favorite part is the chorus:

“You are more than the choices that you’ve made,
You are more than the sum of your past mistakes,
You are more than the problems you create,
You’ve been remade.”

The whole song is true, we have all rehearsed the lines. We know what to say and what to do to pretend we are okay. Truth is, we don’t understand God’s love, we can’t fully grasp it. I will never understand how someone could sin their son to die for me. I have no children, but ask me when I do if I will let my son die for a criminal. I can tell you the answer to that right now, I couldn’t do it. I don’t understand how God could. This is now about where we have been, but what our brokenness brings us to. And it brings us to God.

Verse 2 says:

When you pass through the waters,
I will be with you;
and when you pass through the rivers,
they will not sweep over you.
When you walk through the fire,
you will not be burned;
the flames will not set you ablaze.

What that says is pretty simple if you ask me. No matter what trial or tribulation we face in our lives, God is going to be with us. And as his children, he is not going to let anything of this world overcome us. Christ himself said he has overcome the world.No matter what it is God is with us, even when it doesn’t seem like he is. I am one of those people who likes to do everything themselves. I feel like I can do it, and it will get done best if I do it. I have a problem entrusting people to take care of task, because I want it done right. God sometimes has to get my attention and tell me to let Him do his thing, it’s quite silly that I do that too. Anything we do in life is going to be easier if we let God be in control.

Here is an example from my life, for the longest time I had trouble deciding on what I was going to do after college. I wanted to go to Law School, I know for a fact I could be a good lawyer. Then I though about going on and getting a Master’s Degree in history and teaching at a Junior College and possibly pursue a doctorate degree. I never had peace about any of those things, mainly because I was planning my life without God’s influence. I could have done one of those things, but  I would not have been happy in life. We must follow God’s plan if we want happiness, because His Will will make us happy. Recently, I have come to the fact that God wants me to work with kids, thus pursuing my degree in Social Science Education, and accepting a call into the ministry. I don’t know where those two things will take in me in life, but I can tell you I have peace about things for the first time about my future.

I let worrying about my future become the rivers and fires in my life. When I trusted God, and leaned on Him to help me make a decision, he did not fail me. I guess to wrap this long blog up, place your trust in him. He calls you His, which is the highest thing you could ever be called. He will not lead you astray, and happiness is the road you will travel for a long time.

God Bless!


Leave a Reply

