Out With the Old, In With the New

Today was a day that I will never forget, for good reasons. My church I attend back home has been sitting on the same piece of property for 107 years, until today that is. Over a year ago we decided to relocated, we bought a K Mart and so began the process. I really didn’t think much about till services that are traditional I realized were the last one’s in that building. It was weird, but today it really sunk in. Well it should, I mean today was the last service in that beautiful sanctuary. No big deal though right, I mean we still meet next Sunday just at a new place.  I mean I shouldn’t be emotional it’s just a building right?

To me, it was more than a building. It was my second home, where I spent the majority of time in the summers, where I found out who I was, where I learned my jump shot, where I met my best friends, and most importantly where I met my personal Lord in savior. I got in trouble in that building, I got baptized as well, and made the most recent important decision in my life. It holds some of the best memories of my life, and I will never forget that.

It will be weird not going to that building, but I am so excited about what will happen. You see all those memories were great, but they are not because of the building. It is because of the people in that building, the people are who make up the church. None of those memories would have happened with all the people, the 12th Street family, and I am grateful for that. I am even more grateful that these people are moving to the new building. I have confidence that more memories are to come.

If you do not have a church home and are close to Gadsden I encourage you to visit. God is moving and it is evident. Though I am older and my life is about to get “real” in the years to come, I look forward to making new memories at the new location. I know that they will come because the 12th Street family is a family that seeks God, and he will bless this place. Although today was bitter sweet, I rejoice for the memories we had in that building. As the old saying goes “Don’t be sad its over, be thankful it happened.” I am thankful that it happened. God is good, and will continue to be.

Some of my best friends at the last service

One thought on “Out With the Old, In With the New

  1. Thank you for following God’s will. I have been at 12 Street for 65 years. Accepted Christ at 13. Have worked with children since I was 16 and have been there , except for the years in college, Judson. Lots of memories of children and grand children. Wonderful memories of it all including Kindergarten / Day Care. So excited about God’s plan for the NEW 12 Street! WOW! God is soooo Wonderful!!!

Leave a Reply

