Opening Day is Here!

People ask me what I do in winter when there’s no baseball.  I’ll tell you what I do.  I stare out the window and wait for spring.”  -Rogers Hornsby

That is right my friends one of the greatest days in the Spring, Opening Day for Major baseball. Baseball is America’s beloved past time, and holds many great memories for me. It represents everything that is great about summer, from the beautiful weather to the delicious stadium dogs at  Turner Field. Humphrey Bogart once said”A hot dog at the ballgame beats roast beef at the Ritz.” It is the only thing in life a man can fail seven out of ten times at and be considered great.

Baseball is something I hold very dear to me, because for the longest time it defined me. I started playing at the age of 4 and didn’t finish till I was an 18-year-old senior in high school. It was the one thing I could do to get my mind off of everything in life. There was something about lacing up the cleats and putting on that old hat that made everything okay.I had the pleasure on being on some great teams, and having some great coaches who have influenced my life in a very positive way.

You know what really grinds my gears? People who bash this great sport and call it boring. Albeit I know at time the game can be slow, and to the rookie spectator find it boring. Baseball though is a sport one should truly appreciate. It is not a sport you can pick up in a season, or two it takes years of practice. I truly believe that it i one of the hardest sports to learn, because the game as so many aspects to it. Discipline, mental toughness, and the ability to be able to forget the last play and go get them the next one. The art of the game of baseball is one that should be truly appreciated.

The 2011 season should be an exciting one no doubt. My team, the Atlanta Braves, are saying good-bye to Bobby Cox and welcoming Fredi Gonzalez to the dugout. Will he be able to carry on the success of the franchise, and claim a divisional title over the mighty Phillies? The AL East will be exciting as always as the Red Sox and Yankess duke it out for the division. Can Tampa Bay with the new additions of Manny Ramirez and Johnny Damon be good enough to replace Carl Crawford and compete? Will the Al West be extremely boring once again? Can the Cubs finally win a World Series? I don’t know the answers to these questions, all I know is we have 162 games to let them figure themselves out.

With that being said Play Ball!   …….Oh and Go Braves!

One thought on “Opening Day is Here!

  1. Dude, you’re probably the only person I know in Alabama who’s favorite sport is baseball and not football. I actually remember going to baseball game when I was a kid once, but all I remember is eatting alot lol.

Leave a Reply

