Thank You Clayton Crossings

Dear Church,

It’s been a great ride for me over the past 9 months, and I hope the same can be said for you. I wanted to take a short blog post to express my gratefulness to the Church @ Clayton Crossings for giving me the opportunity to shepherd their students. For taking a chance on me as their interim student pastor without any previous experience working on staff for a church. The staff, parents, students, and volunteers have made this season so enjoyable for me and the least I can do is take time to thank you for doing just that.

We have seen some great things happen these past months. We have seen 6 of our students baptized, and we have 4 more slated to be baptized very soon. Most churches will baptize one or less students in a calendar year. For us to have 10 in nine months is remarkable, and I praise God for that! We sent two students to Cuba and we have more wanting to go, we have had students  stand up and give testimonies, and students meet with me desiring to grow closer to God.

We stayed busy from going camping, to hockey games, attending a great concert, to eating at Chick-Fil-A before going bowling, and participating in a great Meta weekend. We tried to figure out the difference between verses in Lamentations and Taylor Swift lyrics, ate raw onions, and dressed really tacky during Christmas while going house to house getting some great food. We made bold predictions during the Super Bowl, but ended up hanging out with each other playing volleyball, ping pong, basketball, and just talking because the game was a blow out. We walked through the Old Testament, discussed how to do evangelism, answered hard questions, and studied the Bible in context. We started discipleship groups, we have grown (spiritually and numerically), and above all else I feel we have glorified God in the process.

So thank you to all. Thank you to the parents for entrusting your students with me on Wednesday nights. Thank you for offering your home, your talents, your money, and your time to invest in these students. Thank you volunteers for being patient, for being loving, for caring about students and this next generation. For recognizing investing in these students is investing in the future leaders of the Church, and desiring to see them grow. Thank you students for being faithful to coming, thank you for challenging yourself to grow in the Lord through D-Groups and quiet times, thank you for inviting your friends, and thank you for making this one of the greatest experiences in my life. You have taught me so much, and I just pray I was able to teach you something along the way.

Thank you Pastor James for taking the chance on me. For allowing me to come in and lead, and helping direct me along the way. For the advice, support, and prayers for the Student Ministry. I have been able to learn while following your lead, and look forward to the day I am able to apply it as I lead a church.

The Church @ Clayton Crossings is a wonderful place. It’s a place where the Great Commission is taken seriously, reverence for God is seen, the people are welcoming, and where worship clearly takes place. My prayers will always be with you as you go forward with “Vision 20/20” I will pray for you as Brandon comes on staff, and I know he is going to do an amazing job. I will pray for Caswell, your students individually, and the continued growth of this ministry and the church. Thank you for loving me, for helping me, for trusting me, and above all else serving God and loving Jesus. I look forward to staying in touch with all of you. 

Thank you for it all, and to God be all the glory.

Soli Deo Gloria,

Jared Cornutt

Leave a Reply

